Under Virginia Law. DUI 1st offense is considered a serious offense. If you are convicted of a DUI you may face:
• up to one year in jail
• a fine of up to 2500.00 dollars
• one year mandatory suspension of your license
In addition, a DUI conviction is a class I midemeanor, which means it is a criminal case as well as a traffic offense. In addtion, upon being convicted of a DUI, this conviction will stay on your Virginia Driving Record for 11 years. You also must file a form FR -44 with the DMV which will require special insurance.
In most cases, upon conviction of a DUI, you will be required to attend and successfully complete the ASAP class, which is a mandatory alcohol counseling course. This course usually lasts a minimum of 10 weeks, and costs 400 or more dollars.
Also if you wish to have a restricted license, you will need to have any vehicle which you drive equipped with ignition interlock, which is a device that measures your alcohol content upon starting and driving said vehicle. There is a cost with having this installed as well as a monthly service fee.
Im many cases, depending on the level of impairment, the law requires that you serve a minimum mandatory period of incarceration. If your level was between a .15-and .20, 5 days of jail time is mandatory. Anything in excess of .20, required 10 days minimum jail.
As an an attorney who has been practicing DUI defense for over 20 years, I have seen the law change and transform over the years. I have also kept abreast of the latest developments, trends, and defenses. I would be happy to help you with your case.
DUI 1st offense