In the Commonwealth of Virginia, Reckless Driving is not merely a ticket, it is a serious traffic offense with serious consequences. In Virginia, Reckless Driving is a Class One Misdemeanor carrying a jail sentence of up to 12 months, a fine of up to $2,500, and a suspension of your driver's license or driving privileges for up to 6 months. This conviction may have an effect on your insurance premiums, may affect a security clearance, and may cause a suspension of your driving privileges. The Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) assigns six demerit points for a Reckless Driving conviction on your driving record, which is the maximum amount for any offense. Preparation is they key to a successful outcome.
If you are facing this type of charge, you should call Mr. Greenside's office, so he can help you prepare for court and get this charge reduced or eliminated.